Women's College, Calcutta

P-29, Kshirode Vidyavinode Avenue,
Kolkata - 700003

Political Science Department

The department of Political Science was introduced in Women’s College, Calcutta in the year 1962. The college was granted affiliation for Political Science Honours Course in 1978. At present the department has a dedicated group of teachers, including the Principal Dr Mahua Das, three full-time teachers and one part-time teacher. The teachers of our department work relentlessly towards the all- round development of the students. Regular classes, tutorials, student seminars, projects, excursions and participatory classes are held. Weak students are identified and given special attention. The students of the department actively participate in National Service Scheme (NSS), Srijan—Centre for Community Welfare (a government registered NGO run by the college) and such other community development programmes and activities. They are encouraged to participate in inter-college quiz competitions and debates. Students and faculty members also participate at workshops on Youth Parliament organized by the Government of West Bengal from time to time. The department had organized a U.G.C sponsored Certificate course on Human Rights in the year 2012-13 .Departmental seminars are regularly organized to enrich the knowledge base of the students and teachers. The students of the department excel academically and many of them pursue higher education.


Sl. No Name Designation
1. Dr Mahua Das Principal
2. Smt. Kakali Munshi Associate Professor
3. Smt. Ubhoybharati  Acharya Mukherjee Assistant Professor
4. Smt. Rakhi Banik Assistant Professor
5. Smt. Archita Seal Part-TIme