Women's College, Calcutta

P-29, Kshirode Vidyavinode Avenue,
Kolkata - 700003

Department of Sociology

The Department of Sociology was established in the year 2006. The department offers both Honours and General courses (under 1+1+1 system) in the undergraduate level under the University of Calcutta. It is being managed by one Government Approved Contractual Whole Time Teacher (CWTT), Smt. Punyarupa Bhadury and four Guest Teachers, namely, Madhura Basu, Lupa Ghosh, Seema Dutta and Poulami Chakraborty.

The students graduating from this department have been performing extremely well over the years. Almost all of them enrolled themselves for higher studies in various university programmes. Many of them have secured prestigious jobs in different positions, both in academic and non-academic fields. As the subject Sociology is dynamic in nature, students are able to learn and gain experience both inside and outside the class. They are also able to gain awareness about the current developments of the society through such exposure, which in turn helps them in their Dissertation work involving various socio-economic issues as part of their curriculum. The students also get to learn how to take interviews and build rapport and network with people from various fields. They participate in seminars and workshops and also in various extracurricular activities like debates, quiz, sports and other cultural events. Most of the students are also actively associated with the National Service Scheme (NSS) as volunteers.

The teacher-student relationship at the Department of Sociology is very friendly as the teachers bestow every possible support to the students to help them cope with the challenges in their daily lives. Moreover, the slow learners of the department are identified based on the class performance and provided special assistance outside the classroom. Guardians are regularly informed of their wards through Parent-Teacher meetings.



Sl. No Name Designation
1. Ujjal Kumar Das Assistant Professor
2. Guest Faculty
3. Guest Faculty
4. Guest Faculty
5. Guest Faculty